eTA to Canada

Since 2016, Canada has been offering an online visa to foreign travelers coming from visa-exempt countries. An electronic visa to Canada is dedicated for those who want to make a trip to Canada and enter by air for tourism, transit or business purposes.

What is eTA to Canada?

eTA is electronically linked to your passport and replaces the need for a paper document. Since it is valid for five years and functions as a multiple-entry permit, its holder can enter Canada and come back here to explore the places that didn’t manage to visit for the first time.
The eTA is not a guaranteed indication you would get through customs. Still, it can speed up the process as it helps immigration officers pre-screen international visitors crossing the Canadian borders.

How to apply for eVisa to Canada?

Click the ‘Online application form’ button and check it yourself that obtaining a visa authorization has never been this easy! You are only 3 steps away from getting your visa: enter your personal and travel details, pay eVisa fee, and check your email inbox. As simple as that!

Application form for evisa to Canada
Apply online

Enter your passport data and other necessary information

Make payment for evisa to Canada
Make an online payment

Choose one of the available online payment options and cover the fee

Get eVisa to Canada
Check your email address

As soon as your request has been positively processed, e-visa in a PDF file will reach your inbox

Visa Canada

Canada eVisa Types

Canada has made it easy for all eligible applicants by introducing only one type of an electronic visa, which is eTA. Therefore, whether you plan to visit Canada for a family reunion, tourist-related activities, handle business affairs, or just make a transit stop you can do it with eTA.
eTA functions as a multiple-entry authorization valid for 5 years. However, it is not a work permit, so its holder cannot take up any kind of paid employment in Canada.


The validity of eTA to Canada is 5 years from the date of its approval or until your passport which you used to apply for eTA expires, whichever has a longer duration. Therefore, if your passport expires before the validity period, you should apply for a new eTA.
eTA is a multiple-entry permit, which means you can enter the country several times within the validity period and stay for a maximum of 6 months each time. It’s impossible to extend the eTA validity period. Once your eTA expires, you must submit a new application. Please remember you cannot be on the territory of Canada at the moment of your application.

Canada eVisa


The following requirements should be fulfilled if you are applying for an eTA to Canada:

  • Your nationality should be included on the list of eligible countries for eTA to Canada.
  • You need to be outside Canada when applying for an eTA.
  • You should be travelling with the same passport you used when you applied for the eTA to Canada because these two documents will be connected digitally.
  • You need to have a valid credit/debit card or any other online means of payment to pay for the Canada eTA.
  • You should have a valid email address to receive the approved Canada eTA.
  • Check if you have a stable internet connection to complete an online application smoothly.
  • Make sure you also have access to any working electronic device to complete the application process, such as a smartphone, laptop, etc.

What do I need ?
Necessary documents:

  • Passport
    Provide your passport data required in the application form.
  • Credit Card
    Prepare your credit card to pay e-Visa fee.
  • Email Address
    Enter your active email address.

Application Form and Required Documents

The application process for eTA to Canada is one of the simplest in the world because the only requirement is to have a valid passport for at least 6 months from the date of travel.
eTA to Canada can be obtained through a simple 3-step process which will only take a maximum of 5 minutes to complete.

Application Form Guide

  1. First, you have to choose the purpose of your trip from tourism and/or business.
  2. You have to complete the online eTA application form by filling in your personal details, travel and passport information as well as additional required information.
  3. Choose your preferred online payment method, e.g. valid credit/debit card. Once your payment is registered, then the confirmation number will arrive at your email address.

As eTA is directly matched with an applicant’s passport, it is not necessary to carry its hard copy. However, please remember that an electronic copy of valid eTA must be saved on your electronic device you will be traveling with

eVisa to Canada Requirementst

Important information

Useful information about eVisa to Canada

  • You can only apply for an eTA to Canada if you are from the list of eligible countries and it can only be used for tourism, business and transit purposes.
  • You have to apply for an eTA to Canada when you are outside the country and get it approved before the intended date of your travel.
  • The approval of eTA takes a maximum of 3 business days but usually the applicants enjoy the earlier approval, on average, within 16 hours.
  • You should ensure that your passport is valid for at least 6 months from the date of travel or otherwise, you won’t be able to visit Canada.
  • If your passport is renewed or expired, you must apply for a new eTA to Canada as it is automatically connected with your passport.
  • If you are travelling with kids, they should have a valid passport and must apply separately for ETA, irrespective of their age. Applications on their behalf must be submitted by their parents or legal guardians.
Canada Visa information

List of eligible countries

  • Andorra
  • Australia
  • Austria
  • Bahamas
  • Barbados
  • Belgium
  • Brazil*
  • Brunei
  • Bulgaria
  • Chile
  • Croatia
  • Cyprus
  • Czech Republic
  • Denmark
  • Estonia
  • Finland
  • France
  • Germany
  • Greece
  • Hong Kong
  • Hungary
  • Iceland
  • Ireland
  • Israel
  • Italy
  • Japan
  • Korea, South
  • Latvia
  • Liechtenstein
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Malta
  • Mexico
  • Monaco
  • Netherlands
  • New Zealand
  • Norway
  • Papua New Guinea
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Romania
  • Samoa
  • San Marino
  • Singapore
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • Solomon Islands
  • Spain
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland
  • Taiwan
  • United Arab Emirates
  • United Kingdom
  • Vatican City